The Grand Trunk Pacific Railway brought McBride into existence as a divisional point on the new northern trans-continental line in 1911-1914. The company designed the townsite with the station as the focus of Main Street, flanked by two parks. The current station with its picturesque style was completed in 1919 on the foundations of the original, which was lost to fire in 1918.
1911-1918: Origins of the McBride Station
Technology changed and Canadian National, the current owner of the line, moved the last operations out of the building in 1989. The Canadian government designated the station a heritage building, and the Village of McBride purchased it in the early 1990's.
1989-1990: Changing Operations
In December 2000, the Whistle Stop Gallery became the first tenant in the newly renovated train station. Renovations continued and the McBride Info Centre joined the Gallery in the summer of 2001. In April 2003, the Beanery 2 opened for business in the space that had been occupied by the original Beanery café four decades prior.